When Leslie Met Deb

Hi I’m Leslie. You may know me from my BuggyBag site or blog. I’m not here to talk about that.

I first met Deb while working as a sewer on a movie called “Eaters of the Dead”, not that affectionately known as “Eaters” to all who worked on it.  That was just a working title. The movie was released in 1999 under the title The 13th Warrior, although, I’m fairly certain that we worked on the costumes in 1997! That was the first time I saw Antonio Banderas in person… the second time is the better story, so I’ll save that for another post!

 

Deb,  was the head cutter on this feature film, and I really looked up to her. For the laymen readers, a cutter is essentially in charge of interpreting or identifying what the costume designer wants. They then use the measurements given to draft a pattern, cut out the fabric and instruct all the seamstresses on the construction techniques, often they need to estimate how long each process will take and how much of each of the materials are required.

She had such a stressful position, but, she never, ever let it phase her or change her positive outlook toward her job or those around her. She was always patient and extremely knowledgeable.

We had many laughs on that show, probably most of them due to the extreme deadlines, last minute changes, and brutal work schedule…everyone was giddy with exhaustion.

That job lasted for many months, but, the friends I met on it are still around. Deb’s one of those friends, and I’m so happy that we are embarking on this new journey together!

Leslie

About Costume People

We are two women with over 30 years of combined experience in making costumes for film and television. Even after all these years we still love the thrill of seeing our creations in close up on the big screen. Now it's time for us to share our expertise.
This entry was posted in Film Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Leslie Met Deb

  1. Thank you for the kind words Leslie.

    EOD (Eaters of the Dead) was an amazing experience. Linens and leathers for months. Hand woven cloths and decorative bands and a wonderful woman’s apron of molded veg tan and macrame with insets of open brass beading.

    I remember when I was first introduced to you too. As a cutter hoping to find a new team I knew right away that your skills were excellent; proficiently competent, organized, and with a depth of concentration needed to manage this creative and challenging position.

    I also remember your incredible blue eyes!…..and then I met your then infant daughter and there were the very same blue eyes – two sets!

    Deb

Leave a Reply

